Crossing State Lines: Interstate Gambling and the Interplay Between Federal and State Laws

Crossing State Lines: Interstate Gambling and the Interplay Between Federal and State Laws

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


This year’s symposium, “Crossing State Lines: Interstate Gambling and the Interplay Between Federal and State Laws,” will shed light on the multi-jurisdictional legal issues surrounding intrastate gambling, sports-betting, and other legal fields.

Download the Program and Schedule Here!


Schedule:

Friday September 30, 2022

9:00am ET/6:00am PT: Breakfast provided by the VLGS café

9:30am ET/6:30am PT: Welcome and Opening Remarks

  • Symposium kick off with an introduction presented by President Rod Smolla and Symposium Editor Elsa Larsen

10:00am ET/7:00am PT: Panel 1 (moderated by Prof Varadi)

  • Professor Michael McCann | Director of the Sports and Entertainment Law Institute at the UNH Franklin Pierce
  • Professor Anthony Cabot | Distinguished Fellow in Gaming Law at the William S. Boyd School of Law, UNLV

11:00am ET/8:00am PT: Panel 2 (moderated by Dean McCormack)

  • Attorney Elizabeth Homer | Founder of Homer Law, former Vicechair of the National Indian Gaming Commission
  • Attorney Scott Scherer | Partner at Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP, and former member of the Nevada Gaming Control Board
  • Lindsay Slader | Managing Director of Gaming at GeoComply and Vice President of Regulatory Affairs

12:30pm ET/9:30am PT: Lunch provided by Tuk Tuk Thai

1:30pm ET/10:30am PT: Keynote speech (moderated by Dean McCormack)

  • Tom Parker | Former Assistant Special Agent and Deputy Chief of the Los Angeles FBI Field Office

3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT: Panel 3 (moderated by Elsa Larsen)

  • Professor Bill Werner | Professor at the University of Las Vegas and Former in-house Counsel for Boyd Gaming Corporation
  • Hon. Colleen K. Sterne | Judge, Superior Court of California, County of Santa Barbara

4:30pm ET/1:30pm PT: Closing statement presented by Symposium Editor Madison Gaffney

Each panel will have a Q+A session following speaker presentations.

Submissions The Vermont Law Review continually seeks articles, commentaries, essays, and book reviews on any subject concerning recent developments in state, federal, Native American, or international law.

Learn more about the submissions process >